Sacred Cows – Powerful Prayer; or ‘ALL’ Powerful God?

I have been thinking this week about prayer. Well actually, truth be known, its a subject I think about on a daily basis. More than that, its something I like to practice on a daily basis. I have a relationship with God. And because of that, I like to talk to him on a daily basis.

Regarding the subject of prayer; one thing that riles me up, is when people think others are powerful prayers. They are a powerful man or woman of prayer. And its within this context that I wan’t to stand up on my soap box and cry, “There is no such thing!”

There is only an “ALL POWERFUL GOD” who answers our prayers. Every single Christian has access to God through Jesus Christ. Prayer is answered – not because of our own merit – but rather, because of what Christ has done for us.

Certainly throughout history there are men and women who were known to be men and women of prayer. But, lets not kid ourselves. They were not powerful men and women of prayer. Instead, they were humble, and weak people – people who knew they depended on God for everything. People who knew that they had no ability to twist God’s arm to answer their prayers. And they were people who knew that God was a God who only heard their prayers – through Jesus Christ.

I want to encourage you today, that God hears your prayers. Nothing is impossible for him. Certainly its good to live in relationship with others, and ask others to pray for you. But, we don’t ask others to pray for us, because we believe they have more access to God than we do. We ask others to pray for us, because relationship is always about sharing the load.

Anyways, God I pray, that you will cause us to be filled with your spirit of revelation and wisdom, so that we know our position in Christ, that we know you are an all powerful God who is willing and able to listen to, and answer our prayers. In Jesus name I pray.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in prayer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sacred Cows – Powerful Prayer; or ‘ALL’ Powerful God?

  1. Pingback: As if the first beast was not bad enough. Revelation 13:11 | A voice in the wilderness

  2. Pingback: As if the first beast was not bad enough. Revelation 13:11 | A Voice crying in the wilderness

Leave a comment