I received a text this morning….

I received a text from our pastor this morning asking if I was ok to do communion, as I was rostered for this morning. I texted back saying yes, and also asking if Joanne was also rostered on to help. A text came back, saying that he meant give the communion message, and not pass around the elements. It was a pleasant surprise. Though it was a little short notice as it was now 8:30 am and church started at 9:30 am. The pastor had already asked me if I was willing to share a month or so ago, and I missed out on being given the new roster last Sunday as I was broken down in the bush. When he first asked me; a blog post came to mind with a subject to share on – and so this morning I looked it up, printed it out , prayed through it and gave it to the Lord, asking him to speak through me.

It’s been a while since I have spoken from a pulpit. It felt good to be there again. The congregation I fellowship with is small and multicultural. What it lacks in numbers is made up with a passion for the community, unity with other churches, and a richness of experience and giftings of the Lord. The pastor asked me this morning if I would like to share a little on one of their mission Sundays about the missionary work we do here in the local area. Which is something I am eager to do.

Anyway – here is the link to the previous blog post which I wrote back in 2010.  

I tweaked it a little, mentioning how all have sinned and fallen short of God’s glory – and just as all have sinned, all have the invite to come and be forgiven of sin. No matter our age, gender, social class or nationality. I shared how originally communion was a shared meal, and therefore asked that we may swap our small cup of wine with someone sitting close to us and in doing so, symbolically accept each other as being equal with us – as together we accepted what God had done through his son for us.

 

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Preaching and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

