Hurricane Benno and the peace during the aftermath.

Streuth. What a week. I don’t think my life has ever been so turbulent. I had an experience that was like a road train hitting me from the left. A goods train from the right. A grand piano from above. And a cyclone bearing down on me from behind – and they all hit me at the same time. Oh, and I forgot to add the sink hole of depression that opened up and tried to swallow me. I wont go into the horrors of what caused this. Only to say that it was and is something that no sane man would even think they would have to face in the future.

But, despite the pain – I made a quick and urgent plea on social media and to some friends via email and text to please pray for me. Some trusted peeps I filled in with the details and they were able to offer me calming advice, prayer and friendship. One friend wrote back, “Praying for wisdom friend!”  I can’t tell you how calming and encouraging it was to be called “Friend” in that moment of time.

The night the hurricane hit; I told my wife I was ok and that I wasn’t going to do anything stupid; but, that I had to go and find myself a paddock. I had to get to a wide open space. And so I did. My heart was heavy. I don’t think I have ever prayed so earnestly – “Father, deliver us from this evil!” A tangible weight lifted from me and a deposit of hope came into my soul. I looked up and saw a bleak over cast sky and told the Lord that that was like the condition of my soul at that time. Immediately some soft gentle rain started to fall on me. I felt it was the Lord encouraging me that the rain was a reminder of the power and gentleness of the Holy Spirit who had heard my prayers and that he was answering my prayers.

Friends, the horror is still there. Nothing in the natural has changed. However, I can honestly say that I am truly resting in God’s peace. The many prayers of those praying for me have been and are being and will be answered. 1 Cor 2:14 says that no person is able to receive the things of God without the Holy Spirit as they are revealed only by the Spirit of God.  Some of my favorite prayers come from the letter to the Ephesians –

  I pray that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father,[h] would give you a spirit[i] of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of Him. 18 I pray that the perception of your mind[j] may be enlightened so you may know what is the hope of His calling, what are the glorious riches of His inheritance among the saints, 19 and what is the immeasurable greatness of His power to us who believe, according to the working of His vast strength.

I ask that you will join in this prayer with me: for myself and my family. And for all who are connected with this evil that has befallen us.

Now for some good news – During the week I was involved with a discussion with a couple of prodigals, who made a re-commitment to the Lord. My prayer is that God will seal the work he has begun in them and that they will go on from strength to strength. Joanne and I have been accepted as members of our local church. The church leadership team asked us what our strengths and passions are and we both said that we love pastoral care. So we have been invited to be part of the churches pastoral care team.  We don’t don’t know exactly what and how that will look like at the moment – but, we are excited to see what the Lord has in store. Finally, my Sabbath from study has finished. I am getting prepared to get back into the swing of things. I have 3 subjects left to finish the degree – and prayerfully will finish by the end of next year.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

