The God who died for us.

In one of his hymns, Charles Wesley wrote: “O Love divine, what has thou done! The immortal God hath died for me!”

One of the major push-backs to this hymn is the rightful claim that no one can kill God. It’s true that no one can kill God. It’s also true to say that the Godhead didn’t die on the cross. The Father and the Holy Spirit didn’t suffer on the cross.

Jesus says, no one can kill me. But, I lay my life down, and I take it up again. This is one of the many mysteries of the Trinity and the Atonement. God taking upon himself the punishment of our sin – the wages of sin is death.

Jesus says in John 10:17 – 18 17 The reason my Father loves me is that I lay down my life—only to take it up again. 18 No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from my Father.”

The Apostle Paul says to the church in Acts 20:28 Be shepherds of the church of God,[a] which he bought with his own blood.

Fred Sanders recently posted a in-depth article titled, ‘God died on the cross.”  It’s a worthwhile article to read.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

