Today I turn 50.

I have been very quiet on my blog lately. Simply because I lost the zeal and enjoyment of writing. I have continued to read along, and comment on a few blogs that continue to encourage, and spur me on in life and faith.

Today I turn 50. I have batted 1/2 a century. Last Sunday I celebrated my 50th with family and friends at the local bowling club – though the bare foot lawn bowls was canceled because of the extreme heat. So we reverted to plan b and went with the flow.

When I turned 40, I did not want to turn 40. I tried to hide from it and sweep it under the carpet – by saying lets celebrate my 42nd instead, as it will be my 2nd 21st. But the 42nd celebration never eventuated as planned as I was recovering from an extremely debilitating sickness caused by viral encephalitis. Fast forward now – I have to admit I don’t really like turning 50. How different it was to when I was younger – couldn’t wait to grow older. But 50 I am. And I am ready to embrace my age. I can’t do anything about it.

BUT because I have been doing a lot of regular swimming at the local pool, my beard and hair went white. My beard went Colonel Sanders white. And so I shaved it off. And have been told I look 20 years younger. Again, it is only an illusion.

The book of Isaiah says

He will be the sure foundation for your times,
    a rich store of salvation and wisdom and knowledge;
    the fear of the Lord is the key to this treasure.[a]

I am glad that my trust is not in the fleetingness of the age. Or my age. That instead Jesus is the foundation of my life. In him I find a rich store of salvation. Wisdom. And knowledge. And the key to it, is fearing him, loving him, entrusting him.

The last 10 years have not been easy. There have been many knock downs. Knock backs. Heart ache. Pain. Much disillusionment in regards to where I thought life was heading – to how it actually panned out. Mixed in that, there was joy. Strength. Healing. Hope.Good friendships. Great church family.  A strengthening of the knowledge of my true foundation in life. That God is with me. For me. And never against me.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

