Growing older – gracefully.

T.C blogged about Aging to the Glory of God.  He talks about how his body is telling him he isn’t as young as he used to be. I too am feeling his experience. A few short weeks ago I jumped on our scales and found to my horror I was pushing past 110kg. (Which is 220 pounds.) Most of my working life I had hovered between 68 and 72 kg.

Granted I have gone through a debilitating illness which knocked my fitness and abilities around somewhat in 2007 – which has resulted in a slower recovery then I thought. I also bulged a disc in my back last year trying to lay some turf in the back yard. But the reality of seeing how heavy I was kicked me into gear to shed some weight.
Yesterday I weighed myself and found I was down to 99 kg. I have lost around 14kg since I first weighed in. That is like carrying a child on your back 24 / 7 and then they have jumped off.

I have had to discipline myself to what I eat and don’t eat. I cut out all breads. No cake, no donuts, no lamingtons, no vanilla slices (which are my fav. Except one sat a few weeks back, while at a family birthday celebration, I indulged in cake, vanilla slice, KFC and other goodies) And instead have been eating lots of veges, soups, fruit etc. As well as some regular exercise down the local pool and helping a friend move some firewood. (15 tonne of it.)

Like T.C mentions in his blog post,
As I age, my perspective on life changes.  It’s the truth of 1 Corinthians 13:11.  Or as they say, the closer I get to the grave (in the perspective of aging), my mind tends to turn to more eternal matters.

I too have been using my reflection of self discipline of not eating fresh bread and butter – towards what are the other things that I need to let go of in my life. What are the eternal things I should be embracing more and more of. And in doing so, may I too age gracefully to the glory of God.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

