My little rant for the day.

One of the things that I have been taught in the past, and heard it again today – and I have to say it drives me absolutely nuts is the teaching that we need to go higher with God. Normally its to do with prayer, holiness and activity for God.
The Apostle Paul is writing to a divided Church in Ephesus. A church that is wracked with sin. With people treating each other in dismal ways. He never taught them “Guys, get your life right with God; and then you too will be seated with me in the heavenly realms going up higher and higher the more holier you get!”
NO, instead, to this sinful group of people who make up the Ephesians Church, he tells them…”You are already seated with Christ, beside God the Father.” Therefore, because of where you are seated, and because of your position…live accordingly.
My gosh, this kinda gnostic teaching nearly makes me want to swear. We cannot go any higher with God. We cannot go higher in the heavenly realms. Because, we are already there. We are in the throne room of heaven. We are seated beside Christ, who is sitting beside God the Father. Their aint any higher place for us to get to. Because when Jesus ascended, he took us with him.
Our power for right living, our power for prayer, our power for righteousness comes from knowing, accepting, and acknowledging the very position where we are now.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My little rant for the day.

  1. coimbra123 says:

    The Lord has teaching me to pray out of that position in Christ. I will now often ask “seated with you in the heavens would would you show me or what would I hear?”. My prayers have become simpler and dare I say it more effective AND less self centered.

  2. Craig Benno says:

    Colin. That is very similar to what I often pray…Lord, I don’t know what to pray, will you pray through me, and allow me to pray in you.” I am always amazed at what I pray when I do that.

  3. Pingback: A typical question from my Sunday morning adult study. | A voice in the wilderness

Leave a Reply

