the latest with me

Brian blogs a honest and refreshing post about his frustrations of ministry and where he is at today.

I made a comment about my own frustration, and shift of perspective over the last 10 years. The following is part of my comment:

One of my major shifts along the way is understanding what ministry and vocation is. While Abraham was a prophet; he was always a goat herder, and never stopped being a goat herder. Daniel was a politician. Nehemiah a statesmen / ambassador. Cornelius was always a centurion. And Luke was a doctor. And Paul a tent maker. All these people ministered powerfully within the framework of their vocation; being obedient to what God had called them to do. Yes, there were others who God changed their vocational direction, such as King David, the disciples etc. But within a cast of thousands upon thousands of people in the NT church, this was a rarity and not the norm. And so my focus has changed of what it means to equip the saints for the work of the ministry, and how that is actually worked out.

συνεσταύρωμαι: living the crucified life

It has been really long time since I have done any serious blogging and I think there are a few reasons for that. Probably the main reason is much conversation and interaction much like what happened with blogging in the past has all but completely moved to Facebook. I can make a short post there about something and then have significant interactions in the comments section. This has made it challenging for me to keep up with blogging when any engergy I might have for writing out a post is taken up by Facebook. I know not all agree with that but it’s the reality of it all. Another reason is that I think I just got burned out and was dealing with a lot of emotional challenges to the difficulties my family and I had been facing, and not just emotionally but also financially and relationally. Between the time we left the Grand Canyon…

View original post 711 more words

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the latest with me

  1. coimbra123 says:

    Yes. I remember reading about Donald McGavrin. He is considered one of the fathers of modern mission. He went to south america to teach, lecture style, in a bible school. Most of his students were part-time pastors eg worked for income. He soon changed his method instead of lecturing he would ask the students what problems they had faced that week. And the students discussed the solution. he became a facilitator. We should be equipping the saints for their workplace.

Leave a Reply

