I’m tempted to go argggggghhhh – but, instead I will celebrate.

I was talking to a friend last week who is studying Greek. This person has taken to it like a fish in water. Her comments to me on the subject was that she was is able to easily remember the case endings without too much trouble. I have another friend who, with her husband live as missionaries overseas, and translate the Bible into that native language. She too has a natural affinity with languages and is able to think and even dream in a variety of languages.

I’m tempted to go arrrrggggghhhhhh when I hear stories about people picking up languages like this. For I struggle and struggle with it…and my noggin just won’t remember. But, I won’t go argggghhhh with jealousy. Instead, I celebrate the gifts, talents, and abilities that God has granted my friends to do the study they do.

Every Christian has the same God, but a different calling. The same God, but a different vocation. The same God, but a different ministry. The same God, but a different outworking of empowering grace. The same God, but a different ability. For each one of us, are gifted, empowered, called and set apart to do the work of him. who works so powerfully within us, through us, over us.

No matter our differences in calling, vocation, outworking, and gifting – we are all called to be men and women of prayer. Prayer is the great equalizer. For together, we bow down, as equals, before our mighty God – seeking his face, that we may live, breathe and do the work that he has set us to do. Both as an ongoing community that needs God’s breathe of life to sustain us and for the world, who needs to experience the living God for themselves – through the grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, and the ongoing presence of the Holy Spirit.

Father God. I thank you for the diversity of gifts you grant your people. I thank you for the diversity of vocations, callings, abilities that you have given us. I thank you for my own uniqueness. I celebrate the uniqueness of those around me. May you grant us the ability together to make Christ known to a spiritually bankrupt world. May you continue to show us, empower us, help us to understand our own callings and abilities and to walk confidently the pathways you have set before us. Knowing that you don’t abandon us – but, walk those pathways with us, helping us along the way. In Jesus name I pray.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m tempted to go argggggghhhh – but, instead I will celebrate.

  1. Dave Black says:

    All together now …

    “Aaargh!”

    Languages have never come easy for me. Thankfully, I’ve got the determination of a dog chasing a rabbit.

    Keep at it Craig.

Leave a Reply

