Congratulations Jacob.

Jacob Cerone has passed his oral defense for his thesis, and a hearty congratulations is in order. He blessed me with a copy of his thesis a few weeks ago and I am 1/2 way through it. I admit upfront that his technical application and understanding of ancient languages in the way he engages with Jonah is way above my pay grade. I am however enjoying his thesis, for it compels me to engage and learn at greater depth. Technical aspects aside, his in-depth study is readily accessible, informative and easy to read. Jonah was one of my favorite Minor Prophets, and when I took that class it was a toss up between Jonah and Micah when time came to do my major assignment – Micah won that round.

P.S Jacob, rumor has it you once said you would not shave till you finished your thesis. Inquiring minds want to know if its still coming off? Or perhaps, you had another thesis in mind?

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Jacob Cerone and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Congratulations Jacob.

  1. jacobcerone says:

    Thanks for the kind words.

    I’ve grown a bit attached to the beard, as has Mary Beth. I think it will stick around for a bit longer.

    • Craig Benno says:

      I understand the attachment. I have had a beard most of my life – well 1/2 a beard anyways. The first day I met Joanne, in person, I shaved my beard off. She was sitting nervously outside the cafe, and we laughed later on, when she wondered if I might have shaved and if she would recognise me.

      I have tried to grow a full beard a number of times. (The truth be told, I’m going through a scraggly don’t care stage) but, I can’t stand the itch, Jo doesn’t like the bristles, and it doesn’t suit me either.

Leave a Reply

