Delayed, but, never late. The God, who answers our prayers.

It’s my birthday tomorrow and I turn closer to 50 more so than ever before. Last year my wife gave me a Koorong gift card, which somehow got misplaced. Koorong for my overseas friends, is an Australian Christian book shop. Anyways, one of my favorite prayers is Lord, you know where I placed such and such, can you show me where it is. And normally, the place where it is, comes to mind, or I just notice where it is.

But, the heavens seemed awfully silent regarding this card, and throughout the year, I would remember it missing (normally when I seriously needed it) and pray for the Lord to show me where it was. Well, today, I cleaned behind my tool chest and found it at 2pm. The expiry date on the card was the 7th of Feb, 2015 and I had 4 hours before the shop shut.

The irony was, there was nothing really that I needed at the book shop, at this point in time. Though, if anyone would like to sponsor me the collection of Barth’s dogmatics, I would not say no. But, I had to use it today, otherwise, the card expired and I didn’t think that was a good stewardship of someones gift. So I settled on two books, which I will talk about in a future post.

But for now, I want to talk about prayer. God doesn’t waste any of our prayers. We may think he has ignored them, or not heard them; but, scripture tells us that God hears our voice. Particularly if we pray sincerely and within a Godly framework. We may think that he is delaying his answers, but, the reality is, he is never late. And I for one, am thankful, that he is in control.

Ironically, I received some further good news afterwards this afternoon. Which, I will report on also at a later date. But, it too is in regards to the God who delays his answers – but, in the doing so, is never late.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Delayed, but, never late. The God, who answers our prayers.

  1. Dave Black says:

    “God doesn’t waste any of our prayers.” Preach it, brother!

Leave a Reply

