Heresy = Bible verses twisted just a couple of degrees off center

I have problems with making tithing a law. But, have no problems with people who tithe. Pastor Gary makes some great points here.

After reading his blog post, all I can say is “Gulp! Yikes!’

Open Our Eyes, Lord!

If someone desires to give a certain percentage of their net or gross income, I honor that as their right and privilege. I also believe that all Christians should give generously and cheerfully.

But full disclosure – I believe that tithing was an Old Covenant rite by which about 23% of goods, usually agricultural products, were given to God for the maintenance of the priests, for the poor. I see no comparable requirement for the church, which is supposed to “honor” its leaders (1 Tim 5:17) and make voluntary pledges to special projects (Paul’s Jerusalem Fund). [1]

I have no argument with tithers so long as they have no argument with me. And I’m not speaking here about legalistic tithing or carnal non-tithing.

But in the past few weeks I have found people preaching what must be held up and labeled perversions of the gospel and of the practice of…

View original post 919 more words

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

