What’s in an ‘S?’ An 8.8 million pound typo.

I admit up front that I am a sloppy speller. I am terrible at grammar. Neither comes easily to me. But, I am getting much better at both. It’s also a reason why I don’t work in administration – its not one of my strengths. While they are but two of my ‘many’ weaknesses; I also know the importance of words, for the Scriptures tell us that our words have the power to build up, and the power to tear down.

Here is a perfect example of the power of words. Actually, its through the addition of an ‘S’ to one name, that an innocent company went bankrupt.

Companies House, part of the Department of Business, Innovation and Skills, erroneously recorded that the Cardiff engineering firm Taylor & Sons Ltd had been wound up.

In fact it was another, entirely unconnected, company – Taylor & Son Ltd – which had actually gone bust.

Humans are much more valuable than any business is. It’s why, God sent his son, his word become flesh. We need to be careful in how we handle The Word, and ensure, we neither add to it, nor take away from it. It’s solemn business being men and women of The Word.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in The Word of God and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

