Lets Praise God With Freedom Of Emotion – Psalm 9

One of my favorite college subjects was Christian Spirituality. I remember one lecture extremely well, when we had a Greek Orthodox Professor take the class. He encouraged us to get deep into the Psalms as they will deepen our relationship with God.  This morning I was reading and meditating on Psalm 9.

I will give thanks to you, Lord, with all my heart;
    I will tell of all your wonderful deeds.
I will be glad and rejoice in you;
    I will sing the praises of your name, O Most High.

As I mediated on this passage, I was reminded of Jesus telling us that we should love the Lord our God, with all our heart, mind and strength. And I asked myself, “Do I really praise and sing to God, with all my heart? Do I allow my emotions freedom to praise him with everything? Do I sing praises directly to God, with gladness? Do I thank God with gusto?”

In the months following the 10th of Feb 1997 (when I was born again) I sung praises to God while I milked the cows. I praised him as I drove to and from work. I praised him with joy. There was so much thanksgiving in my heart. But, now, as I reflect on the years gone by, and how I have matured in my faith and understanding; I am left pondering, what happened to my joy? What happened to my spontaneous praise and worship towards God? Has my growth only been one of the intellect? Has my growth been only in the doing of good works? What about my heart towards God?

And as I pondered and meditated on this Psalm and on what Jesus has done for me, my heart become glad. My inner man became strangely warm. Praise came to my lips. And I started to sing praises of thanksgiving to the God who listens.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lets Praise God With Freedom Of Emotion – Psalm 9

  1. There are still too many Christians who dare not to pray and sing straight ahead to God, but use most of their songs for Jesus.

  2. Pingback: Be vigilant with a view to prayers | Belgian Biblestudents - Belgische Bijbelstudenten

Leave a Reply

