Friendship. The power of listening.

Last week I blogged my first post on friendship, where I wrote about the importance of making time for each other.  Today I am going to look at the role listening has in our friendships. I will admit up front, I find it incredibly hard to listen to others. Human nature being what it is, I don’t want to take my focus of what I am doing. I am a terrible listener. But, I know by the grace of God, I am improving in this arena. To explore the power of listening,lets together take a look at what a Psalmist says:

Psalm 116

I love the Lord, for he heard my voice;
    he heard my cry for mercy.
Because he turned his ear to me,
    I will call on him as long as I live.

The author is writing about his relationship with God. Yet, we can also learn much from this psalm about our own friendships. And from this passage, I ask four questions. I’m not going to give you the answers to those questions. But, I have asked these questions many times to young and old and found the answers are always the same. And so, know, that your not on your own. The questions are:

  1. How do you feel when you are listened to?
  2. How do you feel when you are not listened to?
  3. How do you feel about those who listen to you?
  4. How do you feel about those who don’t listen to you?

And so we find there is huge power in being heard, and listening to others. And this is one key, to what makes a friendship ever so powerful.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Friendship and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

