A Few Books

Joanne and I went to our local Christian book store for lunch and a browse today. They had a 20% sale, which allowed me to purchase a number of books. One was John Stott’s The Cross of Christ with study guide and the other was Tim Keller’s Prayer, Experiencing Awe and Intimacy with God.  I didn’t realize that they had the sale till I took the books to the cashier, and so went back to the shelves and picked up the  Learn to Read New Testament Greek  Work  book which is one I have been looking out for.

I have wanted to own Stott’s book for a while now, having read it many years prior. I also had some motive to do so, as his section on the divine / human nature dying on the cross is well written, concise and he makes a good case for the totality of Jesus dying on the cross – while making the clear case that God didn’t die on the cross. Which I will blog about more in coming days.

Keller’s book is another book I have heard some great reviews about. Awe, and intimacy with God, isn’t something I often hear coming out of reformed circles. And so I have been intrigued enough to get it. I can tell you I had trouble putting it down. He has scoped widely in his references on prayer – and has generously incorporated those practices into his own prayer life. He humbly admits that a life crisis caused him to take prayer seriously – even though he had been in ministry for a long time prior. This is a book to be digested, rather then read. And once again, I shall be blogging on it also.

The third book, is a work book that goes along with David Allen Black’s book,  Learn To Read New-testament Greek.  I have had this book for for a while now, which is one of two books I use for Greek studies. I was pleased to be able to get the last one in the store.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Few Books

  1. John-Maureen Mason says:

    customer comment on Amazon about the Cross of Christ: When I learned Stott finished as an annihilationist I was disappointed and found myself searching for clues in the writing. For someone to deny the biblical truth of hell you need to import a humanistic perspective to your hermeneutic. My advice would be read someone whose trajectory was to the reality of heaven and the conscious everlasting torment of hell. Owen, Bunyan, Prophet Nahum or the Apostle John.

    Ifor John and Maureen Ann Mason Milton Keynes England:

    *Mobile: 07526164840* *Micah 6:8** (NKJV)*

    *8 He has shown you, O man, what is good; And what does the Lord require of you But to do justly, To love mercy, And to walk humbly with your God?*

    *”Soli Deo Gloria” **[**Glory to God alone]*

    *Friendship Is a promise, *

    *Made in the Heart, Unbreakable by Distance, Unchangeable by Time*

    *Home Church: Loughton Baptist Church, Milton KeynesAffiliated with Sunrise Church, Hemel Hempstead* *Seacoast Church, Ballina, NSW, Australia**SOJC, Seven Hills, Sydney, Australia*

    • Craig Benno says:

      John. There is actually a good case to be made about Stott’s position on hell. It can be said that that doctrine was one that needed to be reformed in the church, alongside the doctrine of salvation by faith.

      The early church never preached hell. It’s an interesting research project in finding out how the doctrine came to be developed, propagated. and believed throughout church history.

      The early church always preached and believed that the wages of sin was death – not that the wages of sin is eternal conscious turmoil in the pits of hell.

  2. Pingback: Surprised by Greek. Well not really. | Trinitarian Dance

  3. Pingback: I Pray. Experiencing Awe and Intimacy with God. – Timothy Keller. Chapter 1. | Trinitarian Dance

Leave a Reply

