Friendship. Part one. Time.

A friend asked this question on Facebook.  Its New Years Eve peoples, what plans do you have for the New Year of 2015.The year of the goat.What do you plan to rid yourself of, gain and improve on…

I replied , Great question. Because of the high prices of meat at the moment, I intend to go goat hunting. 🙂 Seriously though, I plan on developing my friendships and becoming a better friend.

Her reply was, Craig, keep your quirky sense of humor even at this time in the morning, good to see, keep it up in 2015 plus I like your intentions for the next year, I think you need to do a post on what it means to be a good friend,because it is one of my intentions too.

And so I have been given the challenge to write on friendship. What does it mean to be a friend? What does it mean to be a good friend? Can there be such an animal as a bad friend? Who am I to write on friendship, I ask. It’s a huge topic. I think its an important topic. In reflecting on my friends challenge to write on friendship, I have realized that its a good challenge, for it will force me to  reflect on my goal of developing friendships and becoming a better friend. I don’t think anyone can truly cover the subject of friendship in one blog post. So I believe this topic will give me a framework for a serious of posts. So I ask myself, where do I start? I’m not sure there is any one correct answer to this question.

But, I need to start somewhere, and so today, I want to start this series on the  theme of “Time.” To develop friendship, you need to give it time. You need to invest time. You need friends who will give you time and likewise, you need to be a friend who gives others time. It takes time to get to know someone. It takes time for others to get to know us. Jesus called his disciples his friends. He spent time with them. He spent time getting to know them. Indeed, he knew his disciples better than they knew themselves. Jesus spent time investing in his disciples.

To be honest, the issue of time scares me. I ask myself, do I really give others time? Do I give my wife time. Do I give my friends time. Does my family and friends give me time? I need to ask myself what is it that prevents me from giving time. The question of time is an important one. Because, time equals me. Am I willing to give myself to another. Are my friendships shallow, because I don’t invest myself into them. Are my relationships strained and shallow because I don’t give myself to them?

What are we to do when life gets so busy. When we don’t have the time for our friends. I think we need to ask just why is it we are too busy to give our time. And we are faced with asking 2 questions. 1.) What will the benefits of investing time into my friendship be. And 2.) What will the cost be if I don’t invest time into my friendships.

 

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Friendship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friendship. Part one. Time.

  1. Pingback: Friendship. The power of listening. | Trinitarian Dance

Leave a Reply

