Iron sharpens iron.

maverick bowie knifeIt will be no surprise to my readers that I like knives. Pocket knives. Hunting knives. Kitchen knives. Steak knives. Camping knives. Farm knives. Fishing knives. Carving knives. Skinning knives. Boning knives. Butter knives. Ok…I think you get my point. I should point out also before you start thinking I am a raving lunatic I am not psychotic about them. Nor am I a fanatical collector. I just like them as tools and use them as tools.

I was given my first pocket knife around the age of 10 and its long since been lost. Actually I think I broke the blade off, while trying to imitate Daniel Boon, whilst throwing it into a tree. My parents had a nursery and I grew up a keen gardener. So like my dad, I carried a pocket knife around with me to do budding, pruning, grafting, cutting and whittling as one does. Later on I would use the knife to set traps, trim fishing line, skin rabbits and gut fish. And not to mention the plethora of things a knife would be handy for on many a camping / hiking trip.

Anyways. I am rambling. My wife gave me a knife for Christmas this morning. It’s a generic hunting / skinning knife that is styled on the typical Bowie type knife. It came with a nylon sheath and is painted cameo. Anyways it looks like its a great little knife. It has a full tang. The blade is sharp. I was surprised while looking it up on the internet just how inexpensive it was. It certainly looks like a more expensive model. I was greatly surprised to receive it. Pleasantly so. It will go well with the collection of other knives I have.

Anyways, I can’t wait to try it out for the purposes its made for. But, I shall have to wait for the cooler months. Till then, its come in handy already for cutting paper, opening boxes and what other excuses I can find to use it. (Anyone up for a game of stretch?)

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Iron sharpens iron.

  1. Pingback: More Additions To The Collection. | Trinitarian Dance

Leave a Reply

