Emanuel – Joy to the world. God is with us. The way of the cross.

Is it just me – or do you also have those experiences where the Spirit of God brings about deep conviction and you go snap! That’s it! All day the Spirit of God has been pricking my conscience. This pricking continued to the bedroom where I tossed and turned, trying to sleep to no avail. It’s 2am. For some reason I feel compelled to write and share my burden. I have to get this off my chest. Well perhaps the truth be told, more so to get the Lord of my back. Sorry if that sounded flippant. It’s not meant to be flippant at all.

So what is the problem you ask. I have been convicted of my sin of not counting trials as joy – I reply. James says

Consider it a great joy, my brothers, whenever you experience various trials,knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance. But endurance must do its complete work, so that you may be mature and complete, lacking nothing.

I can truthfully say I have not counted my trials as joy. I have not considered them as joy. And I have been firmly convicted that has been sin. God knows what it is I need. Joy and hope are what will under-gird the endurance needed to become mature. The testing of my faith will cause me to become mature. And when that maturity comes…I will lack nothing. I can count my trials as joy – because I know there is a great reward that will come from them.

God forgive me for my sin. Help me to have wisdom to understand your ways. Help me to consider your ways and your pathways a way of joy. Complete your work in me so that I will lack nothing. In Jesus name I pray. 

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Emanuel – Joy to the world. God is with us. The way of the cross.

  1. Craig Benno says:

    Thanks Greg. When the doo doo hit the fan for me in 2009. I stood in the doorway and prayed Lord I have no joy and I need it returned. … great song mate. Very true.

Leave a Reply

