I have a confession to make.

My prayer life recently has been driven by many things. It’s been driven by praying for the needs of family, friends and co workers in the gospel. It’s been driven by the variety of circumstances and experiences I have seen and been involved with. It’s been driven by need for provision and the opening of doors. Its been driven by my awareness of needing spiritual wisdom, and strength.

But, last night, I found myself on my knees praying for one thing. And that was in seeking the Lord’s face himself. My prayers were being driven by a deeper need. One that in the busyness of life: a life that has a mixture of grief and joy. Good and not so good relationships and a life tired by sickness and…well you get my drift.  – In the busyness of life, I had forgotten to seek the Lord for his own sake and not mine.

And so last night and this morning, I found myself seeking the Lord’s face once again – not for what he could do for me – rather instead, I was seeking him for his sake.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I have a confession to make.

  1. Penny Nakanishi says:

    I can relate. That’s a great place to be: seeking His face.

  2. Dave Black says:

    Good reminder. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

