I did it – my way.

We have (I should say had) a small pergola / shelter in our backyard. I have been planning on moving it a few metres back and turn it sideways, for a few weeks now. It was one of those things with a few sheets of colour bond, 4 light square steel tube legs and a frame.

Muggins after studying it for a while, thought that it would be easy to cut the legs off just above where they were concreted in, and slowly walk the shelter to the required spot. Truth be known, I was kinda going to have a few guys around on Sunday to help me..but, I got impatient and I thought I could do it on my own… so I decided to do it yesterday.

I didn’t figure on the guttering / frame around the roofing iron to be full of years of accumulation of Tea Tree leaves and other debri. There was at least 80kg of debri hidden in the frame. And so after cutting the legs, it kinda collapsed on me.

So muggins had to pull it apart. And I now have this big mess to clean up. In many ways, its collapse was a blessing. I was going to move it to where I am making another pergola, aquaponics garden, and covered area and it most likely would not have blended in that well.

What can I say – yeup. I am a man. I did it my way!

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I did it – my way.

  1. Greg Smith says:

    Don’t feel too bad. I also have done monumentally bonehead things that in hindsight mystify me as to why I could ever have thought they were a good idea.

    • Craig Benno says:

      Greg. All tidied up now. Its a blessing really. I was going to add it beside the aquaponics, garden, covered area I’m currently building from timber. What I was intending to do would have looked a little hodge podge. (I was intending to use it, because it was there.) While I can still use the guttering and the roofing sheets, it will ensure the area will be uniformed in construction.

      At least, that is what I am telling my ego. 🙂

  2. Dave Black says:

    Pix. Where are the pix??!!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

