The convicting / convincing work of the Holy Spirit.

Today post stems from a comment I made on a friends Face Book status a few moments ago. One of the problems I believe we have in the modern evangelical church today, is that we major on the Holy Spirit convicting us of sin. Now don’t get me wrong here, I truly believe that the Holy Spirit does convict us of sin. But, that is not all he convicts, or perhaps a better term for convicting is “persuading” or “convincing” as often the terminology of convicting is more one of condemnation, and I don’t believe the Holy Spirit ever ever brings condemnation to us… However I digress.

We are encouraged to encourage one another on a daily basis. Encourage means to impart courage to each other. And this imparting courage to each other is also a work of the Holy Spirit. The Spirit of God will empower us with courage. The Holy Spirit will encourage us with the whisper of God telling us, “My Son, My Daughter. My Children…You can do all I call you to do, because I strengthen you! I have forgiven you! I have blessed you! I have given you purpose! I have gifted you! I have called you!…” 

This morning I am finding I too have to pause and reflect on these whispers of the Spirit also. I am allowing them to waft into the very essence of my soul. I’m allowing the encouragement of God to strengthen me, inspire me, to empower me. The comment I made this morning to my friend is the comment I will leave with you this morning..Well done friend, I think we often forget that the convicting work of the Holy Spirit isn’t always conviction of sin.. its also a convincing work of encouragement.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

