Conversations with friends.

I was having a discussion with a friend today regarding end time theology and I said to him, “My end time theology is that what ever belief we have on it, if it causes us to be fearful, then it is wrong. God hasn’t given us a spirit of fear.. and so I often ask peeps, why are you so scared of this?” 

He then mentioned that he was reading a book, in which the authors said basically the same thing in his introduction, and linked me to the book, An Optimistic Guide: Raptureless to the End of the World by Jonathan Welton. I have started to read it and while not overly technical, it is a good little read which goes through the history of some of the more popular end time scenarios. 

During our conversation I I wrote, “Good to hear. Takes courage to allow our worldviews to be challenged. In my own journey over recent years, I have had some beliefs strengthened – others stripped away totally and others modified. Shakes you up a bit, when you think you had a strong faith before, and now you may not believe exactly what you did before.. and how does that effect your faith now. But, in overcoming that, I’m more and more convinced that Jesus is Lord, the Holy Spirit is real, The Fathers love is received and everything else is peripheral.”

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

