Is prayer your thing?

Scott from Storied Community has written a brief review on “A guide book to prayer, 24 ways to walk with God.” He writes, 

In this learning process, I’ve come to realize how my apathy towards prayer has lead to my antipathy regarding prayer. I have an aversion to prayer. It’s so boring and seemingly non-consequential. My mind wonders as time is wasted. In the end, all the talk about prayer was compounding my distaste for it.

 

 

He then says, 

And this in a world where I’d been taught the central place of prayer for life itself. Like many facets of the Christian life, prayer is a given in many discussions albeit an arduous road less traveled. Yet, my conversion to a life of prayer was borne out of life of actually praying. It wasn’t until I actually began praying in regular ways that I began to question how to pray, the efficacy of prayer, and the true central role it has for all of life. As I continue to learn and press through this antipathy – for it has never gone away completely – I find myself yearning for more of the God I encounter.

 

 

 

He makes a great point, are we a people who like to talk about prayer more then we like to pray? Are we honest about our prayer life? Is it stale and boring. I can honestly say that there are times when I have to say yes, my prayer life is. I think this book, will contribute to ones prayer life becoming inherently satisfying. 

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

