True success means to never fail!

I have been through a bit of a depressive episode lately. Depression is nothing new for me. I have suffered it for various lengths of time and for a variety of reasons; some of it caused by life events, others possibly because of genetic make up and other times its been because of outright spiritual attack, and then perhaps other times its been a combination of them all.

One of the disabling thoughts for myself that comes out of a depressive episode is that I have failed and that I am a failure and those thought patterns continue the destructive loop in a deeper, inward spiral of despair. It’s a physically and spiritually soul destroying loop that is impossible for me to snap out of in my own strength.

However, I thank God that I don’t have to rely on my own strength, instead, I have great and precious promises from God that he will neither leave me, nor forsake me, and that through him, I can never, ever, fail.

Tonight I found myself reading 2 Peter 1:3-11 and the guts of the matter is that the author encourages us to add;

  • Goodness to our Faith
  • Knowledge to our Goodness
  • Self Control to our Knowledge
  • Perseverance to our Self Control
  • Godliness to our Perseverance
  • Brotherly love to our Godliness
  • Love to our Brotherly Love

    With the encouragement for us to produce these characteristics in increasing measure… saying these 7 things will cause us to be fruitful and effective in our knowledge of Christ.. if we don’t produce these things, we are rebuked as being near sighted, blind and forgetful that we too have been cleansed by the blood of Christ.

    Finally the author states with a firm conviction, Therefore my brethren, be all the more eager to make your calling and election sure, for if you do these things, you will

NEVER FAIL

And you will receive a rich welcome into the eternal kingdom of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

My prayers tonight were based to the Lord to help me to increasingly and continually add these characteristics to my faith! I don’t know about you – but for myself, this promise to never fail is a rich and worthy promise to dwell upon indeed.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to True success means to never fail!

  1. Tiribulus says:

    Very good Craig. As long as “failure” is defined as ultimate failure then bless God no. None of His children will ultimately fail though many smaller failures will be experience along the way. I’m sorry for your depression man.

    I was disappointed I didn’t get a response to my email. You know the one.

  2. Tiribulus says:

    I just found one in my junk pile – marked it as not junk and now I can’t find it. The answer is that yes, I do skype.
    Excellent. I responded in the email you sent me.

Leave a Reply

