Worship with my mind.

Today marked another milestone in regards to continuing my study, as I sat in class for the Anthropology subject I am doing. I have 3 subjects left to do this degree and its with some measure of relief that I can say I now have 2 more subjects to do after this one. I have one core subject “Ethics” to do and have a number of choices as to which other subject to take to finalize the degree.

Yet, truth be told, its not going to finalize anything – for with the Lord willing, I intend to start a Masters degree and once again if the Lord is willing for me to do so, I wish to do a Phd or Dmin. Some people think I am mad for doing this at the age of 46. But the truth be told, I have come to a point in my life where I don’t see study anymore as a means to an end. Rather, I see it as a continuation of my worship of the Lord. We are called to love the Lord with all our heart, mind and strength. And within the framework of worshiping God with my mind, further and deeper study of him and his ways is how I feel the Lord is calling me to worship him.

Within the framework of further study – what happens when I finish – the truth be told it wont. How can study stop. For me to stop studying would mean I can rest on my laurels and state that I know everything there is to know. But within the framework of study comes the responsibility of what to do with it. For I am called to worship him with my strength and my heart. And therefore I need to ensure that the fruit of my studies help me to increasingly worship him with my heart and strength – and may my worship in heart and strength be that of deeper informed understanding.

 

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

