Are you a cessasionist or a continualist?

Are you a cessationist or a continualist? Dave Black wants to know.

  • I believe we ought to continue the pattern of simple, radical, life-style evangelism begun in the book of Acts. After all, it worked for the early church.
  • I believe we ought to continue bearing a humble, faithful, and consistent testimony to Christ, as the early believers did. Let moderns appeal to the sensational and spectacular; even the early church knew of signs and wonders. But the greatest work of the church has not been the spectacular but rather the faithful day-in and day-out living of normal everyday Christians.
  • I believe we ought to continue the pattern of church discipline as practiced by the early church and call out “play Christians” that only go through the motions thinking they are Christians but unaware they are only pretending. When the secular press begins to mock our inflated membership statistics, isn’t it time we did something about it?
  •  I believe we ought to get out of our cozy churches and put Christ on display in the world’s darkness where we are needed. For the early Christians, the field was the world, and the corn of wheat had to die if it was to please God and bear fruit. Why, then, do we sit around debating theological puzzles when we ought to plant our lives in the ugly soil of the world?
  • I believe we ought to continue the emphasis of the New Testament upon every-member ministry, since we are all priests – every one of us – of the Most High God. No church in the New Testament had a single pastor who did all the work. If you have such a leader in your church, fire him – and then hire him back immediately as your CEO, “Chief Equipping Officer” (Eph. 4:12).
  • I believe we ought to continue the early church’s rejection of blind patriotism. The only Christian nation the Bible knows is the blood-bought, born-again purchased people of God.
  • I believe we ought to follow the example of the apostle Paul and eschew the excellence of human oratory and any appeal to human wisdom. Nothing about the Gospel pleases this world – nothing! – and we are never so foolish as when we try to dress it up in the garish garments of this age.
  • I believe we ought to continue the example of the early church and reject position and power as the measuring sticks of success. Why should we seek prominent seats in the kingdom when our Lord promised us not seats but suffering? Obedience cost John the Baptist his head and Jonathan Edwards his pulpit. What has it cost us?

 

Dave has a pretty good list going here. I would add one more to the list, and that is we need to continue being a church who believes in and practices radical expectant prayer.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in community, Dave Black and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Are you a cessasionist or a continualist?

  1. Tiribulus says:

    I pretty much agree down the line Craig. I think you would like our church.

  2. Tiribulus says:

    I do have to say though that I’m not sure how this relates to cessation or continualism.

    • Craig Benno says:

      Hi Greg, You need to follow the link to Dave Blacks blog and scroll down to it to make complete sense of it.

      • Tiribulus says:

        Ah yes, I should have seen that. I do then also consider it my solemn duty to point out that David Black is a Calvinist. I jist really did have to point that out. 😀

      • Craig Benno says:

        Greg.
        I count Dave and his wife Becky as my friends. I have many friends..some are Christian, some are not. Whether someone is a Calvinist or not doesn’t faze me. Whether they are not doesn’t faze me either.

      • Tiribulus says:

        Okay, but I just seem to remember you saying that Calvinism was one of the most “wicked” (I believe wicked was the word) beliefs you could think of. That was at Parchment and Pen. I count Barth as the most successful tool of Satan of the 20th century going forward. He has done more damage to the cause and Gospel of Jesus Christ than the next 5 abhorrent immoral heretics combined. Maybe you can answer the questions I gave to Fr. Robert that nobody has ever been able to answer.

        http://irishanglican.wordpress.com/2013/07/03/von-kirschbaum-and-barth/#comment-4169

      • Craig Benno says:

        Greg… I don’t like it when previous different discussions are brought into a completely new, separate and distinct area of discussion and thought.

        However, my statement about Calvinism being ultimately wicked was to do with “High Calvinism” which is something that Charles Spurgeon likewise denounced as being an evil twisting of Gods truth and love.

  3. Tiribulus says:

    I’m not trying to make more enemies man. Truly I’m not. I just don’t know what goes on in people’s minds anymore. Id there nothing left of biblical standards at all? If John Calvin had lived Karl Barth’s life, I would denounce him as an immoral hypocrite no matter WHAT he said.

  4. Tiribulus says:

    Craig Benno says:
    Greg… I don’t like it when previous different discussions are brought into a completely new, separate and distinct area of discussion and thought.

    However, my statement about Calvinism being ultimately wicked was to do with “High Calvinism” which is something that Charles Spurgeon likewise denounced as being an evil twisting of Gods truth and love.
    This was NOT an AHA!! GOTCHA!! thing Craig. It just stuck with me when you said that and it struck me odd that you were so friendly with a site that appears at least to be reformed.

    I have now updated my mental notebook (which works whether I like it or not) for you with the correction that you don’t think Calvinism is wicked, but only hyper Calvinism, which I also abhor. You may find this hard to believe, but I actually WANT to agree with people Craig. I really do. I’m not one of these guys who is going to go back and find your statement. If you tell me this is what you meant, I absolutely believe you. Not that your day should be made now, but I do.

    • Craig Benno says:

      Greg. I am a complicated guy who yearns to live a simple life. I don’t like Calvinism as a theological system, but have fellowshipped in a few reformed churches – simply put because the people there loved God, loved each other and loved their fellow man.

      I have fellowshipped in Charismatic and Baptist Churches of other theological persuasions and personally I don’t think any of them have got their theological system completely right either…but, once again, they love God, love each other and love their fellow man.

      Yet. at the same time, I have met and encountered reformed and non reformed folk who do a terrible job of loving God, loving each other and loving their fellow man…and I have to include myself in this group. 😛

      • Tiribulus says:

        Well that’s fair enough. I don’t think I can disagree with anything you just said.

        I absolutely do NOT want to debate this with you and there’s no need really even to comment. I sense your heart Craig. That always makes it tougher. I really hope you rethink (and pray) Barth.

Leave a Reply

