What emphasis do we have?

I was reading 1 Cor 15 this morning and the thought struck me like a pylon driver coming crashing down on me. And the thought was, why does it seem that in general, (Ok, so I”m guilty of making a sweeping generalisation here) the church seems to labour on the death of Christ.

Now, hear me out before you start your outcries about the importance of Christ’s death, because for the most part you will find myself nodding my head in agreement with you. But, here lays the rub; it seems to me that through my reading of Scripture that the early church didn’t so much place an emphasis on Christ’s death; instead, they emphasised his resurrection.

You see, you can’t have a resurrection without a death. Simply its impossible to have a resurrection without the death of someone… so the death of Christ is a given. However, the good news of the Gospel of Jesus Christ isn’t that Jesus died. The good news is that he resurrected on the 3rd day. It’s within the resurrection that we find the hope of forgiveness of sins. It’s within the resurrection that we find the hope of reconciliation to God – Why is it in the resurrection you ask me that we find the hope of reconciliation to the Father? Well, I’m glad you asked. It’s because Christ ascended to the Father to prepare a place for us to go. He went to prepare our place of reconciliation. An eternal place of dwelling in which we are reconciled to God.

The resurrection is the source of our gladness. It’s the source of our joy. It’s the source of our hope. And its the source of the promise of the Holy Spirit for all who believe.

So again I ask, why do we so often place more of an emphasis on the death of Christ, then we do his resurrection?

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Death Sentence, resurrection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What emphasis do we have?

  1. I think it’s a mark of Christendom, honestly. In Christendom, everyone is already living “good” lives because Christian principles and values permeate. The only thing missing is the acceptance of the forgiveness of sins, hence the need to focus on the death of Christ as “payment” for those sins (if you follow that atonement theory) or victory over injustice and sin (if you follow that atonement theory) or any other number of ways in which the death of Christ brings about forgiveness.

    This is not to say, as you point out, that the death and forgiveness from sins is important. But how do you move forward from the death? You need life… and life comes in the resurrection. I believe in the death of Christ…but I find my hope in the resurrection, not just a hope, personally, for me, but a hope that comes from knowing that the King of the universe has been crowned and he even has power over the law of sin and death so that not even DEATH can conquer me.

    • Craig Benno says:

      Well said Robert. I was just thinking about the God who has power over death. He is the God who granted us life from nothing in the beginning and has always had the power over death.

Leave a Reply

