I’m tired of pressing on.

I have heard many sermons from Hebrew’s 6:1 on pressing on into the things of God. But, I have to say I am truly tired of pressing on. I’m not tired of pressing into God through prayer and Bible study – though to be honest, there are times when I find both really hard. And I’m not tired of the variety of ministries I’m involved with either; though there are times I get so bone wearied tired, I feel I can’t go on.

Instead the tiredness I have is that of doing things in my own strength. And its within this framework of doing things, pressing onto the things of God in our own strength that makes me very tired. Simply put, I have no strength in myself to press on with. For sure, I have a will. And through my sheer will and determination I can press on and complete a variety of goals and purposes in my own strength. Whether those things  have a noble  or a deep rooted selfish basis – the reality is I’m doing those things for self, in and through the strength of self.

BUT! Dave Black just linked to a word on this passage

Therefore, leaving behind the elementary teachings about Christ, let us continue to be carried along to maturity, not laying again a foundation of repentance from dead works, faith toward God

This same idea of being carried forward by God is found in Romans 8:14, where Paul declares that “all who are led by God’s Spirit are God’s children,” and in 2 Peter 1:21, where Peter, using the same Greek verb as our author uses here, asserts that the prophets “were carried along by the Holy Spirit.” It is the power of the Holy Spirit that is the true dynamic of Christian growth!

True strength comes from the Spirit of God who leads us. And while there are times I kick and scream. I yell and rebel and I have a hardened heart against the Spirit of God’s leading. I’m sure there are times you have been too! It’s through the working of the Spirit through us, in us, over us and around us – and those we fellowship with – who brings us to maturity.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

