Getting ready.

We have been in our home for nearly 12 months now. In March last year we purchased our house and moved in. The moving process took 6 weeks of packing, cleaning, painting, and moving. But while the actual moving in process took only a few days, the process of unpacking and finding a home for everything takes a little longer.

We have a shed that used to be a site office in our backyard, which was earmarked to be our study / quiet room / men’s and women’s shed. But for the last 12 months the room has been filled with boxes, bags and items that were basically put there to keep things out of the house. While I had placed my desk and installed a few shelves 6 or 7 months ago, the room was always cluttered and basically unusable as a study.

Because of this I would bring onto the kitchen table the books I would need and the kitchen was always looking cluttered.  A frustrating situation for all concerned. So the last 8 days have seen me de-cluttering the shed, installing proper book shelves, shredding unwanted documents, throwing stuff out that wasn’t really needed, re-arranging furniture and hanging up a few white boards. Which has resulted in the shed now looking and feeling like a proper study and quiet room.

I can’t tell you how good it has been to finally unpack all my books and place them on the shelves. I can’t tell you how good it feels to sit down at the desk and know where I can find what it is I want or need. And I can’t tell you just how much it makes me feel ready to start college next week once again. And I have even found a long overdue library book that had been packed away and I can now return…. But, while I may not be able to tell you just how good it is…it is good! Smile

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in the study. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

