It’s all Greek. Always double check your resources.

 

I translated the following passage on Friday night while in the motel on my birthday adventure using the traditional method of pen, paper,  Greek New Testament and a grammar; having left the computer at home. I was really chuffed as I did the translation fairly easily, though admittedly leaving the verb out of the equation.  I translated it as follows.

Mar 1:13 και ην TSBεκει εν τη ερημω Aτεσσερακοντα ημερας TSBτεσσαρακοντα πειραζομενος υπο του σατανα και ην μετα των θηριων και οι αγγελοι διηκονουν αυτω

And he was cast into the desert by the spirit where he was 40 days tempted at the hands of the satan, and the wild beasts; and then the Angels ministered to him.

When I came home home I decided to continue my translation work on Mark 14, only this time I decided to use the computer program. Because of tiredness and more than a little sunburn, I copied the following which is Westcott and Horts with Strong’s. One of the things I like about this version is that it parses the sentence for you.  Take the following passage from Mark 1:14 as an example. It begins by telling you the first word is a conjunction, followed by two prepositions, which is followed by the definite article and a verb. The computer program also links to the word meaning when you hover over the Strong’s number.

Mar 1:14 | και G2532 CONJ / μεταG3326 PREP | μεταG3326 PREP δεG1161 CONJ | τοG3588 T-ASN παραδοθηναιG3860 V-APN τονG3588 T-ASM ιωαννηνG2491 N-ASM ηλθενG2064 V-2AAI-3S οG3588 T-NSM ιησουςG2424 N-NSM ειςG1519 PREP τηνG3588 T-ASF γαλιλαιανG1056 N-ASF κηρυσσωνG2784 V-PAP-NSM τοG3588 T-ASN ευαγγελιονG2098 N-ASN τουG3588 T-GSM θεουG2316 N-GSM

However I came to a dead end as I started to work through the version on my computer without referring to my hard copy. Can anyone else notice the problem I faced. I started to search through my grammar as to why there would be two same prepositions together in the one sentence. Basically the word Meta in this sense means hereafter / afterwards. But what did it mean to have them together.. my mind boggled. Anyway I fruitlessly searched and discovered nothing. But, suddenly I had an  ‘Aha’ moment. I compared it with my hard copy and discovered that, meta didn’t repeat its self.  I then did a comparison with my other Greek NTs on the computer, which also showed the one word.

Now the reality is that I could have avoided some mindless anxiety if I had double checked to begin with. I don’t know if the original version causing me difficulty actually shows the double word, or its a typo from the publishers. But with the proper version decided on, in a reasonably short time I translated the passage as saying.

Mar 1:14 μετα δε το παραδοθηναι τον ιωαννην ηλθεν ο ιησους εις την γαλιλαιαν κηρυσσων το ευαγγελιον TSB της TSB βασιλειας του θεου

After John was delivered up, Jesus came into Galilee proclaiming the good news of God.  

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Greek and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s all Greek. Always double check your resources.

  1. Mike says:

    How about a follow up post on why wordpress meta is called meta…:-)

Leave a Reply

