It’s Australia Day.

I am Australian and proud of it. I love this nation because simply put its the only nation I have lived in. This nation has given me free speech. It’s given me an education. Freedom to work. Freedom to roam. And despite its weakness’s our governmental system is strong. We have a history in which we can hold our heads high.

Yet its also true that our nation has a chequered history. A history that is in keeping with the social conditions of the then world. There is much of this history that is cause for us to hang our heads in shame.

So what are we to do then. I suggest we hold onto the good. Renounce the bad and the shameful. Celebrate our uniqueness. And continually strive to better ourselves and our nation. This I believe is what it means to be a fair dinkum Aussie.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Australia Day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

