A Busy Tuesday.

Yesterday was a busy day for me. In the morning I spoke at Karelle’s Thanks Giving service. In sharing some of the story of our current situation, some of our gaols and aims for the future and while thanking the particular church that generously provided us with 15 months of rent free premises, I linked Psalm 23 with 1 Philippian’s and shared how we are fellow participants of the Gospel. My wife Joanne and one of the worship leaders from our church led the singing and overall it was an enjoyable morning.

I quickly had to leave, drop my wife home, then go meet some guys just before we went to the school for school scripture. (My first time.) One of the guys is taking a 3 month sabbatical and asked me to take his place at the school. There was around 60 rowdy year 5 / 6 kids, crammed into a small hot room, and John shared about the prodigal son. It was interesting to note that in this school there is a distinct lack of male teachers, as the school only has one male teacher. John and his crew have worked hard over 4 years to make friends at the school and it was obvious to see that he was genuinely liked by both staff and students. ..Huge boots to fill indeed

I came home and had some lunch, Joanne and myself went to Koorong for a coffee and a browse. I picked up a number of bookmarks, which I intended to give out to the guys at our men’s group that night. I prayed for wisdom and choose a bookmark with a particular passage / picture individually for each guy. A number of our guys are leaving as they moving to different location, and going on long term holidays. We continued our study of Ephesians and concentrated on the theme of thanksgiving.

Within that theme, I handed each of the guys a bookmark, spoke about rites of passage and how we wanted to send the guys out with prayer and thanksgiving, and that the bookmark symbolised a marker of transition in life.. where we have been, where we are and where we are going… we then prayed specifically into the lives of those who were leaving. The night was tinged with a mix of sadness and joy, knowing that we were not losing friends and would catch up again.

It was one of my busiest days for a while and I’m shattered this morning. But thanks be to our Lord Jesus who sustains us with his energy to do all that he asks of us.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in ministry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

