There are books and there are books. And then, there are books among books!

It’s no secret that I am a lover of books. I simply like to read. Novels, biographies, history, sci-fi, theology, blogs, comics, self help, devotional, how to do it,  poetry, and…… even the odd romance book.

This year, the books I have been reading have been hugely impacting. It seems that God has directed my hands and eyes as to just what it is I read, with each book building upon the previous ones. I reflected on some of these books, Relational Leadership, The Art of Pastoring, In The Name of Jesus and now I have nearly read through How People Grow by Townsend and Cloud.

I will be reviewing this book over the coming months in some more detail. But for now, I will say it has brought many of the pastoral care pieces together into one easily accessible framework in which I have been reflecting on over a long period of time. If you like reading for knowledge, then this book is not for you. For while it contains a lot of facts, and information in it, its a book that is hugely personally challenging also within the framework of relational Christianity.

Simply put, its thesis is that you cannot grow as a Christian, as a person, without being involved in deepening relationships with others. The deepening of relationships means one of mutual accountability, one of mutual honesty, one of a deepening of self awareness and vulnerability with self and others.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

