Jack of all trades and master of none.

A recent comment about being a man of many talents, reminded me of a conversation I had with an aunty 28 years ago. I was then 17 and she had asked me what I wanted to do with my life. My reply was that I wanted to be a jack of all trades. To which she replied, “And a master of none!”

This quote is poignant at this time in my life. On Wednesday, I turn 45. I find that the older I am, the quicker each year seems to go. And every year around my birthday, I spend a bit of time reflecting on my life. What have I done. What am I doing. What has God called me to do and perhaps more importantly, what has God called me to be. It’s a time of honest appraisal. A time of reflecting on the good, the bad and the ugly. A time of reflecting on my strengths and weaknesses. My passions, friendships, relationships, and family.

I have posted previously that I have had many different jobs over the years. Many more than the average person would have experienced. And in this regard, I did indeed become a jack of all trades. There are some jobs that I tried to do, that I absolutely failed. There are others that I was ok at. And there were others, that I nailed it. I can confidently say that those jobs that I nailed, I was good at it. But, I can’t say that I mastered any of them. For to say that would mean that I had no room to improve and nothing more to learn about that job. It would also mean that I had arrived at the top. It would mean that I had become the master!

As I look forward to what the Lord has in store for me in the coming years, I want to remind myself that I am the master of none. For we only have one master! And that is our majestic God. Our king and our friend. We only have one master and therefore we are to never be a master over any. We only have one Lord, and therefore I cannot Lord it over any. Christianity is a great levelling field. For in Christ we have no nationalities, no gender, and no social class distinctions. All are one in him. Our Lord calls us to serve him, by serving others.

No matter what I am called to do. Whether it be to preach. To write. To teach. To encourage another. To pray for someone. To counsel or sit with another and hear their story. To share the Good news that we have in Christ Jesus. I am to do it within the framework of serving the other. For its only through doing this, that indeed we will truly become the master of none!

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Christian living and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jack of all trades and master of none.

  1. Dave Black says:

    Well said.

    By the way, happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

