A big issue.

I’m convinced the biggest problem in our churches today is its failure to identify, raise up, equip, release and continually mentor existing and new leaders. The true essence of pastoral care is to build identity, to raise up, equip, release and continually mentor and support those in our care.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Church and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A big issue.

  1. Dave Black says:

    I couldn’t agree more, Craig. As a teacher my greatest goal is not to dispense information but to equip and empower my students to do their own work in the text of Scripture and thus to begin to wean themselves from us so-called experts. Of course, both are necessary (and I have written enough books to know that teachers should indeed have something worthwhile to say to their students), but the “essence” (as you say) of teaching is mentoring and equiping.

    • Craig Benno says:

      I love how you often link to your students work and acknowledge their nuggets of gold. I think some teachers / pastors / elders are frightened of doing this. On a personal note, I find it a challenge to ‘know’ that I have something ‘worthwhile’ to say. Having something to say is the easy part.

  2. Craig, when I read this, I think you are talking about building an organisation. I believe the Church is something outside this. Not saying organisations don’t have their place – but I would actually say, the biggest problem in our churches today is that we fail to see the distinction between our organisations and religious practices, and the life of God.

    • Craig Benno says:

      Hi Kerry… within the scope of the NT we see that raising up and releasing new leaders is an integral part of the Apostles ministry. The Christian faith and practice within the framework of the NT is one of deliberateness’ and intentionality as well as freedom and empowerment of the Holy Spirit. Therefore as Christians we should likewise be deliberate and intentional in our relationships within a deep and real framework of love, under the leading of the Holy Spirit.

      • Hmmm… so maybe we are closer to the same page, than I assumed – here you are talking about intentionality (a point well made) but in the context of relationships. That sits well with me. Thanks for the reply 🙂

      • Craig Benno says:

        Your welcome Kerry. I do realise that there is / has been harsh and controlling leadership practices within the church. Practices that have caused many, including yourself much harm and broken relationships.

        When ever I talk of leadership in the church, I’m always talking in a relational framework, permeated within a pastoral context. I believe that leadership must be always be submissive within the pastoral context: yet all to often we find that leadership dominates the pastoral framework and people then become objects to fulfil a goal, instead of relationships being the goal.

Leave a Reply

