Deposit pain on a house, the packing has begun and oh, the pain.

We were able to put a deposit down on a house yesterday. And so last night I started on the packing process and filled one box with cd’s and dvd’s. We are only going to move a few km’s away, yet experience has shown me that the packing process is crucial to making the transition easy.

Yet, there is some sorrow and pain in this process of packing. For over the next few days, as we gather some boxes, it will be time to pack away the books. I have a love hate relationship with my books. At times they seem like friends and other times they seem to be my enemies. There are times they freely give their information to me, the words seemingly jumping off the page to me. Other times I have to struggle and wrestle with them to get what it is they are trying to say.

There are the magazines to collate and decide which ones to keep and which ones need culling. Mostly they comprise of 4wd, camper trailing, cooking and organic gardening. There are the novels and biographies and the commentaries, dictionaries, and a variety of theological books. They are on the list of things to pack away first, as they are the things that in reality we will be using the least, for the next 6 weeks.

But, the good news is that when we do eventually move, all of my books and resources can come out of storage once again. At the moment I have numerous boxes of books that I haven’t unpacked for a number of years. Many are like treasured friends, whom I haven’t seen for a while. Oh! the expectation of the joys of unpacking. But for now, let the pain begin as I put away my friends.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in moving house and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deposit pain on a house, the packing has begun and oh, the pain.

  1. I really hate packing. But thanks to various moving companies they really make it easy and we do not have to bother about packing things.

    • Craig Benno says:

      While this comment is spammed advertising, I will allow it through- as it does have to do with my blog post- Btw, if you are a real person and not a automated bot response…I have looked at your website, while looking for a removalist.

Leave a Reply

