Where is the Father?

Dave Black asks where is the Father in our theology books, when commenting about the translation of Larry Hurtado’s book into French.

Amen to that. I might take it a step further. Where is a section on the “Father” in our theology books? It’s missing. You’ll find chapters on “Christology”” and Pneumatology.” You’ll also generally find a section called “Theology Proper.” But the Father is forgotten. If our theology is to be balanced, shouldn’t we have a corresponding chapter on “Patrology”? (Yes, I realize we can’t that use that word because of its use by patristics scholars, but it really is the perfect counterpart to Christology and Pneumatology.) I’m not sure how to put this into shoe leather. Maybe you’ve got some ideas.

A number of years ago I read a reader on how some denominations tend to have an devotional emphasis on one member of the Trinity above the others. On a personal note, my own devotion is more towards the father. In 1999 I had a powerful revelation of God being my father. And God’s presence filled my inner being with the absolute knowledge that he was the Father God.

Furthermore in 2002 I was walking down the back paddock, holding my son’s hand. He was two at the time. We were talking about the grass, the grass hoppers, the sun and the clouds. During this time I became aware of how much I loved my son and my left hand rose up and felt like someone else was holding it. I had a vision of God holding my hand, as I held my son’s hand and together we walked down the paddock. I heard God say that in the same way I loved my son, he loved me, only more so. While the reality of the vision only lasted a few seconds, it seemed that time was suspended and that walk went on for a long time.

In 2009 the doo doo really hit the fan and I felt that the Lord had abandoned me. Indeed there were even people who had told me I had backslidden and lost my salvation. A friend rang me up and said:

“Craig, I have been battling the Lord for a number of days now. I feel he wants me to tell you this and yet it seems too simple. I feel strongly that the Lord wants me to tell you he still is holding you firmly in the hand walking in that paddock with you!”

The lyrics of the song, “How Deep the Father’s Love for Us” speaks deeply of my love for God and all he has done for us.

How deep the Father’s love for us, How vast beyond all measure. That He should give His only Son.To make a wretch His treasure. How great the pain of searing loss. The Father turns His face away. As wounds which mar the chosen One. Bring many sons to glory. Behold the Man upon a cross. My sin upon His shoulders.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in God the Father and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

