Growing old gracefully.

Brother Dave has been sharing how he has saved enough money to pay for two mission trips, through the practice of having his wife cut his hair. He makes the point that he actually doesn’t have much to cut in the first place. Which begs the question if he is paying cutting or searching fees. Winking smile

However he raises an important point about how grey hair and old age is respected in Ethiopia. As one who has shades of silver starting to show: I often say that I’m nearly qualified to sit at the city gates.

I actually don’t mind the silver shades. I think it looks good on me. I joke around at times that perhaps I should buy a tin of boot polish and cover it over. But all jokes aside: how do you handle the issues of aging. Are you one who is aging gracefully or are you one who is fighting it all way, in what ever way you can do to hide it.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Growing old gracefully.

  1. Ahhh… “growing old gracefully”…. easier for guys to relax about a few greys, in this culture, don’t you think?

    But all that aside, even though I look critically in the mirror sometimes at the silver hairs and laugh lines, I love the age I am. I understand so much more about life than I did when I was younger – but I’m still young enough to have fun and adventures… (& hey, it’s fun to embarrass your teenage kids with a few impulsive shenannigans, now and then 🙂 Pushing 50 isn’t that bad, after all!!!

Leave a Reply

