Last day for the year.

On Monday night I uploaded my last assignment for the year. I now eagerly await the results, which should be in by the end of next week. Today was the last day of class for the year. I could take a summer class over the Christmas break; but there isn’t anything on offer that really suits the requirements for the course I’m doing.

This means I have a break until the beginning of February, in which I will take an ‘Ethics’ class.  During this time I hope to catch up on some reading, write a couple of papers (private research) and meet up with a number of Men of God: one of whom I hope to spend some time fishing with. And do some house hunting.

I am also looking forward to spending time with my wife and time with my boys: one of whom if the weather permits I will be busy building a skate / scooter ramp and with the other preparing for a few days rafting trip on the Hawkesbury river.

The last few weeks have been stressful for a variety of personal/family reasons. And I really thank God for his people who gather around and or pray in times of trouble. Therefore as much as I really enjoy college and study; my wife says I come really alive when I have my head in a book and am doing some research. I am so looking forward to recharging the batteries and resuming studies next year.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Lifestyle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Last day for the year.

  1. Mike Gantt says:

    I hope your ethics class will focus on Jesus. I can’t think of anyone who knows more about them than Him. In fact, I suppose we could say that He exists for the very purpose of teaching us ethics every single day. I wonder why so few people pay attention to Him in this regard.

    • Craig Benno says:

      Hi Mike. The subject abstract says

      In an era of moral relativism, Christians should stand out as moral beacons. In fact, however, it is increasingly the case that Church is seen not as a community of love but, rather, as a legalistic, dogmatic, mean-spirited and hypocritical institution. This unit helps students to think through how they go about making ethical decisions. It argues against legalism, and sets up a theological method of approaching ethics that prioritises grace and the power of the Spirit. It also facilitates guided reflection on personal morality and societal ethical issues.

      • Mike Gantt says:

        Jesus going unmentioned in the abstract leaves me disappointed for your sake…but I’ll hope you’ll find Him there nonetheless.

      • Craig Benno says:

        I think your being a little provocative Mike. I guess that reflects your ethical ethos.

      • Mike Gantt says:

        I’m not sure what you mean when you say I’m being provocative, but I do have a strong conviction that a personal and abiding relationship with Jesus can elevate ethical behavior farther, faster, and more permanently than any other means. So superior is it in this regard, that I consider all other forms of ethical development as futile (Rom 7, if you will). Therefore, I saw in your post the opportunity to promote Him. If it’s a provocation, I hope it’s one you welcome.

      • Craig Benno says:

        Mike. Considering I am doing a degree at a ‘Bible’ college, and that most of my posts do centre around Christ, I’m wondering on what basis you would think the ethics class wouldn’t be centred around Christ?

      • Mike Gantt says:

        Well, for one thing, the “subject abstract” which you quoted above.

Leave a Reply

