Shattered

We have been preaching through the book of Mark at church in the morning service and I had the privilege of  preaching the 2nd last sermon of the series…which I entitled  “Where is God when we feel forsaken”

The text was  from Mar 15:34  And at the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lema sabachthani?” which means, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” tied in with Psalm 22 which is a prophetic Psalm that describes the crucifixion scene in detail.

I have often heard it said that God the father deserted and turned his head away from Christ while he was on the cross. The reason being is that God is such a holy God that when Jesus became sin; because of his holiness he could no longer look at him..and so the separation and abandonment between Christ and his father was more painful than the actual physical pain of the cross.

Yet the reality is that this reasoning is illogical. For even if the sin of the world became centralised in one place at one time in the process of Jesus becoming sin – Scripture no where indicates that God had stopped watching over his creation because of sin.  Within the fabric of the history of Israel and the variety of blessings and curses – God is continually telling them that he has seen their deeds.

Therefore I showed that God in fact didn’t forsake his son. And in doing do showed that in times of our own deep and dark times of pain, God also doesn’t abandon or forsake us.  Deep pain of any kind is personal. It isolates us from others. Even though people are around us – there are times when our pain causes us to believe we are on our own.

Psalm 22 starts out with this great cry of despair. “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”  and we hear Christ’s cry of victory in calling out to God. Have you ever noticed that even when we cry out to God- “Why” or “Where are you?” that we are still speaking to God? I believe its because within our inner being we still know that God is hearing us…and indeed  verse 24 says of God: Psa 22:24 For he has not despised or abhorred the affliction of the afflicted, and he has not hidden his face from him, but has heard, when he cried to him.

And so I want to encourage you today – that if you are experiencing deep pain and feel that God has abandoned you – that indeed he hasn’t abandoned you, but is wanting to walk with you in this journey of life.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in cross, life experience and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shattered

  1. Hey Craig,

    I was gonna be lazy and just press the “like” button, but it wouldn’t let me as I’m not a member of wordpress. Must mean I should comment properly!!

    It is SO good to hear preaching that reinforces the fact that sin DOESN”T separate us from the love of God. I had never made the connection with the Psalm 22 thing – I guess I figured that Jesus was experiencing the isolation from God that we experience when we cut ourselves off – and as you’ve said – he was – but God was STILL there!! (sorry for all the caps – I get a bit excited!!)

    It’s really something to think on, and to let settle in deep – thanks!!

    • Craig Benno says:

      Kerry you need to move to WordPress…much better platform lol! 🙂

      For God so loved the world he Sent his son…. we often miss the fact that God saw our sin, saw our total weakness’s and sent his son to live amongst sin…and not only that he called us to him in the midst of our sin. It’s ok to be excited about this.

      Jesus never kicked anyone when they were down. It’s something I’m learning more and more every day. Thanks for commenting and sharing.

  2. I believe Christ was forsaken in our place so that we will never be forsaken. Same with punishment, payment for sins etc. I think that if Jesus asked why he was forsaken, that he actually was forsaken. We were bought with a price that was very high so that we can be at peace with God. That’s the way I see it.

    I don’t think forsaking is God turning his head away or deserting Jesus, but letting him be put to death on a cross is pretty major even if God ‘kept’ Jesus through it because Jesus lived a sinless life, as opposed to us. I think there needs to be more differentiation between Jesus and us.

    But again you make me think and I appreciate the encouragement. I fully agree with your last paragraph/sentence of course and that we can ‘feel’ forsaken by God at times but never are.
    Jeff

    • Craig Benno says:

      It depends on what we mean by forsaken. Jesus died so we don’t have to die and through his life we also gain life. Commentators say that Jesus is quoting Psalm 22 and the psalm begins with why have you forsaken me. This is given weight by the actions of those who were saying he is calling out to Elijah, and tried to give him something to drink…the account of which is found in Psalm 22.

      Feeling isolated and forsaken is one of the worst experiences I believe we can ever go through and its comforting to know that God doesn’t do that to us.

      Looking forward to your next posts Jeff…

Leave a Reply

