Making every effort.

I have been reading through the 2nd book of Peter. The first chapter is a challenge in that it calls us to recognise our position in Christ, recognising that we are cleansed from all our sins. We are then called to work out our knowledge of Christ and participate in his great and precious promises through his divine nature through the way we live.

Dan makes the point that it is said that to be a good, faithful and effective Christian you have to pray, read your bible, attend church and tithe. Now I’m not against those things…well I am actually against the whole issue of tithing and how it is generally taught – for it has no Scriptural backing (though I am all for living a generous life). Smile

Yet, Peter shows us that there is actually a better way to be an effective and fruitful Christian. He says…

  • Add goodness to your faith
  • Add knowledge to your goodness
  • Add self control to your knowledge
  • Add perseverance to your self control
  • Add godliness to your perseverance
  • Add mutual affection to your godliness
  • Add love to your mutual affection

He then challenges us with the call that if we continue to possess these qualities in increasing measure they will keep us from being ineffective and unproductive in our knowledge of Christ….And if we don’t possess these qualities we are near sighted and blind and have forgotten that we are cleansed from past sins….calling us to make every effort to confirm our calling..for if we do these things we will never stumble, and will receive a rich welcome in the eternal kingdom of God.

This personally challenges me.

  • How do I add goodness to my life?
  • How do I become more  knowledgeable?
  • How do I become more self controlled?
  • How am I to persevere?
  • What does it mean to be godly?
  • What can I do to increase the fellowship of mutual affection?
  • How am I to love

The answer to these questions have an important consequence because its only through living out the answers to these questions that I will be fruitful and effective in life as a Christian…

What say you?

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Christian living and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Making every effort.

  1. John says:

    Craig I pray this every day…
    Loving Heavenly Father, help me to demonstrate the character of the Lord Jesus Christ in my life, His wisdom, knowledge and power, His love, loyalty, goodness, grace, kindness, His gentleness, mercy, peace and joy, His boldness, beauty, confidence, courage and self control, help me Father to be more like the Master, that I may be a better child for you. In Jesus’ name I pray. GBYAY

  2. danielpulliam says:

    great post! a good emphasis on what the Christian life looks like as opposed to empty actions we do to make ourselves feel like we’re good Christians, Thanks for sharing.. John, i think I may adopt that prayer as one of my own also.

Leave a Reply

