Psalm 131 – a calming prayer.

I have had a stressful couple of days. Dealing with lawyers, deceit and injustice. Coupled with study commitments, my wife and I coping with the flu – the joys of the weekend seem to fleetingly far.

Tonight I picked up the Bible to read and it opened to Psalm 131, which I had highlighted.

1 My heart is not proud, LORD,
my eyes are not haughty;
I do not concern myself with great matters
or things too wonderful for me.
2But I have calmed and quieted myself, 
   I am like a weaned child with its mother; 
   like a weaned child I am content.

3 Israel, put your hope in the LORD
both now and forevermore.

I then wrote and prayed the following prayer.

My heart is proud – Lord forgive my pride. My eyes are haughty – Lord  forgive my pride. I have concerned myself with what I shouldn’t – Lord forgive my pride. I concern myself with things that are above my concerns – Lord forgive my pride.

Lord I come to you because of my pride – help me to be humble in my hour of need. Help me to surrender my ambitions and concern myself with you – So that I may be weaned of worry, discontent, anger and all that hinders my walk with you.

May I be content in all I have – which is you. I put my faith and hope in you Lord and ask that you help me to do this continually now and forever more.

 

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in pastoring, prayer, Psalms and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

