Chapter and verses.

I have enjoyed reading a Bible that doesn’t have the traditional chapter and verse numbering system. It does have a draw back in that it makes it harder to refer to the passages that you are reading – though on the bottom of each page it does give the chapter and verse ranges.

Through my reading, I have become convinced that the traditional chapter breakdowns are wrong. I have written elsewhere about Luke 16 and believe that Luke 15:1 – 17:10 should be considered as one chapter and not two and a bit.

In my preparation for preaching on Romans 13 – I have concluded that the traditional chapter breakdowns  are wrong. I believe that Romans 9 – 12 and  12:1 – 15:21 are considered to be complete chapters instead of being 5 separate chapters.

The plot thickens…

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Chapter and verses and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chapter and verses.

  1. Craig
    I certainly agree with you about the “versification” of the Bible. There are many bonuses to having the text broken down into chapters and verses, but it definitely influences the reader perhaps more than it should. You gave two good examples in your post. To take this one step farther, what do you think about some book distinctions? For instance, instead of reading the first five books of the Bible (the Torah) as separate books, what if they were read and thought of as one book–The Book of Moses. Or instead of reading the minor prophets as twelve individual books, what if they were seen and read as one cohesive unit, which I think they are anyways. Perhaps Luke and Acts should be seen as just one big book. Anyways, I’m just thinking out loud. Keep up the good work!

    • Craig Benno says:

      Hi Josh.

      I agree with you what you have said about the OT. I have written a fair bit on the Minor Prophets and agree it was written as one book and needs to be understood as such. Next semester I hope to study the Pentateuch (its that or ethics) and again agree its one book. I was only thinking this morning that Daniel and Esther perhaps needs to be read as co-joining books also.

      Thanks for your comments.

Leave a Reply

