Church membership

Tomorrow will mark a special occasion at church. There are a couple of young people who are wanting to be baptised and a few more who will be officially accepted into the congregation as church members.

I am one of those who will be officially accepted into the church as a member and looking forward to it. Membership will allow me  officially to have a say at church meetings, to be able to vote on various issues when they are presented to the church and perhaps be considered for a eldership / task force position within the church.  In reality this is the only official reason for becoming a church member.

However; I believe there are other reasons to become members of the church.

  1. To publically say to the congregation – you are my church family.
  2. To publically say to the congregation – I am part of your church family.
  3. This means you are making a public commitment in that you are committed to the life of the church and believe in the direction in which the church is heading.

And for me, these are the greater reasons for my stepping forward and saying to the church – Thank you for accepting me – and likewise I am saying I also accept you!

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in church fellowship, church government and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

