Is it a question of inability, lack, or in reality; unwillingness?

Dan was reflecting on Psalm 23 in his Lenten journey, writing about the times we go through dark valleys…  reading it and reflecting on my own life caused me to turn to the Psalm myself this morning and I the very first verse stopped me in my tracks.

The Lord is my Shepherd, I lack nothing!

Over the years I have been praying on a regular basis – Lord help me to love, for I lack the ability to love and I can’t love others as you would have me love them!

In reading Psalm 23 I was convicted that I do not lack the ability to love and I do not lack for anything…

Therefore, I have the ability to

  • Love myself, God and others.
  • Be patient.
  • To be kind.
  • To be merciful.
  • To be self controlled.
  • To be forgiving.
  • To go through and work through difficult circumstances.
  • To be joyful.

The real question is not one of lack, or ability. The real issue to face up to and to answer is,Am I willing to do these things?

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Fruit of the Spirit, love, prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is it a question of inability, lack, or in reality; unwillingness?

  1. David says:

    Craig, I stop at the first word ‘the’ David was very clear, there is only one God, He sees the God as the reason He achieved everything, and more important this God, the God of Israel, He is David Shepherd. Shepherd is also an interesting choice of words being that David understood Shepherds, after all he was one. The Shepherd leads his sheep to green pastures, feeds and waters his sheep, protects his sheep and cares for his sheep; to a Shepherd nothing is more important than his sheep. Now read this ‘The Lord is my shepherd’ wow!! Imagine how well this shepherd will look after His sheep. David was old when this psalm was written so he speaks from a point on experience and knowledge and he still says ‘the Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want.’ Amazing psalm, sometimes we forget to look at every word and focus too much on the things we like.

  2. Craig Benno says:

    I totally agree with you there David… btw great namesake.
    In the thrust of what your saying… The sheep were totally looked after, without needing to ask for a thing. Their job was to follow the shepherd – where ever he took them. I love your reference to David looking back… how often do we do the same…look back and see the hand of grace on our lives…even when it was a dark time.

    Within my devotional – I was more alluding to the fruit of the Spirit. Hence; the only reason I don’t lack the ability to show this fruit, is because God has already provided me everything I need in him to do so….therefore the question comes down to if I am willing to follow the shepherd where he takes me.

Leave a Reply

