If you’re only interested in marrying for sex – go to a brothel…

I sometimes hear people who are talking about getting married, that the main reason they want to get married is to have sex… (I am talking about marriage within a Christian context)

They look at me with shock horror – when I bluntly tell them that they might as well go to a brothel and have sex. Now in reality I am not advocating that they go and do this very thing. I am against prostitution for many reasons – most of those reasons having a foundation of the degradation of human identity to that of a human commodity. And it is this attitude that my comment is actually addressing.

If the main reason your planning to marry is for sex, then you are seeing your partner as a commodity to use for your pleasure within the so called guidelines of Christianity…in other words your having a form of Godliness and yet are denying Gods power. The reality is that your thinking of your partner in the same way a client considers a prostitute.

Sex is an integral part of marriage. There is nothing against looking forward to having sex either as a married couple. And I do consider the term ‘marriage’ more loosely than what others do in today’s cultural environment; as I have previously written. But marriage is more than sex. Its to do with commitment to the other person. Its to do with saying publicly that we are committed to live with each other, honour and support each other, to encourage each other and to really know each other and sex is an integral part of this process… and I do emphasise integral… neither is an oversight or an optional extra.

So to those who are considering getting married –  My advice to you is……

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in marriage, pastoring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to If you’re only interested in marrying for sex – go to a brothel…

  1. Pingback: If your only marrying for sex – go to a brothel. | Unsettled Christianity

  2. I think you kind of stopped halfway through a post there, but still sound advice – I’ll keep it in mind.

  3. Gary says:

    I agree with you, and definitely think that if a marriage takes place in a church, the church must involve the couple in serious counseling and discussion beforehand. However, I’m really having a hard time getting over the “your”. It should be you’re.

  4. Alejandra says:

    I agree with you. Marriage shouldn’t happen for the sole purpose of sex. does ask to exercise restraint.

  5. bob greene says:

    Great article, loved it! You are so true what you said. I was married for many years and wife left me for another man. After a couple of years being divorced, I was dating women, with one intent to have sex. Also I thought, marriage maybe the key to have regular sex.

  6. T.C. R says:

    Great stuff. I’ll have to pass it on. 😉

Leave a Reply

