Upwards, inwards and outwards.

I had the pleasure to meet Dudley Ford many years ago, who had been invited to lead our church retreat. Dudley is a Sydney Anglican Minister, While I don’t remember all he spoke about that weekend – I do remember a catchy phrase which was the theme of the weekend.

Upwards, inwards and outwards.

It’s a phrase that I have come to take as my own. Recently I have used this theme as part of my devotional exercises in reading Scripture. It then forces me to ask a 4th question, they being.

  1. What does this passage say about God.
  2. What does this say about me.
  3. What does this say about the community in which I live.
  4. What am I going to do about it.

I think this theme also makes an excellent foundation to preach from…what do you think?

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Preaching. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Upwards, inwards and outwards.

  1. jacq bohr says:

    Love that your blogs are short and ask question rather than present to have all the answers. Love that you like to create dialogue rather than create your own platform!

  2. Craig Benno says:

    Thanks for the thumbs up. I do like to ask a lot of questions and in doing so, it possibly drive my lecturers nuts … well maybe more so my class mates 😉

Leave a Reply

