Taking a matter to the church elders.

This week has been an interesting on; to say the least. I don’t want to say a lot about the particular circumstances; rather my intent is about what I did about it. Church discipline is an interesting sphere for me and my family.

I am divorced and remarried; and my sons live with their mum and I have part time custody. It’s no secret that I came out of an abusive marriage; and in circumstances that the church handled extremely poorly. Because of various circumstances I approached my ex wife’s pastor; asking that he set up a meeting between he and the church elders; my ex wife and myself; in the letter I described the ongoing abuse and misinformation that abounds about the separation.

I have as yet not heard from this pastor. My ex today told me that he intends to do nothing about it; as he sees her in good standing with the church…these words did come from my ex wife though…

It will be interesting to see what comes of this. I think nothing will happen and therefore I’m thinking about my next step in going above this pastors head to the national state executive… But perhaps I am wrong about what this pastor will do.

It won’t be the first time I have been wrong.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Church, Church Discipline, church fellowship and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Taking a matter to the church elders.

  1. Joel says:

    We’ll be praying, but I think you are on the right track. She may not be your wife any longer, but she still claims to be a sister in Christ.

  2. wken says:

    I just came here by way of your comment at Unsettled Christianity, and want to say that I know this kind of situation. I’m also divorced, and that after a very abusive marriage. My ex isn’t active in any church, but other than that I know how you feel.

    I’m sorry, and I want you to know that I’m praying for you and the situation.

    • Craig Benno says:

      Thanks for your prayers and comments. I have not heard back as yet. I doubt if I will. I’m also sorry to hear of your past experience of abuse. It isn’t much fun at all.

      It was in regards to what I considered to be inappropriate use of one of my son’s Internet account in which his mum and other family member accessed to make a comments on a video clip of mine..and what appears to be a coerced video clip of my son making a statement in return.

      Its a deep regret of mine that my ex wife was hurt that day. The full account of what happened can be found here http://mencanbeabusedtoo.wordpress.com/?s=fortified+defences

Leave a Reply

