Turning 44…

I turned 44 on Tuesday. It’s an interesting experience to hit your 40’s and realise your not a young adult any more. When it was coming up for my 40th; I decided I didn’t want a 40th birthday, instead I wanted to celebrate my 42nd for it would have been my 2nd 21st party.

In hind site the reality was that I was not really wanting to turn 40 and it was a way to ignore it. Instead of a celebration, my 42nd was a disaster; it was marked by abuse; hole’s being put through the wall; smashed glass all over the floor, crying kids and physical threats of violence towards myself…. A few days after this I walked out to escape the escalating violence and become homeless; where I stayed in my van for a number of weeks.

This time round my birthday celebration was great. We had a great dinner and fellowship at my in laws, where we celebrated my brother in law, his fiancé  and my birthday together; for their birthday is the day before mine. One the day of my birthday, my wife and I went fishing down at Bundeena. Yes we got burnt. Yes we caught fish. Yes we had to throw them all in, because they were too small. But we had a great time.

There is something special about spending time with those whom you love and who love and respect you…before I divorced I hadn’t received a birthday present for 3 years,from my then wife; who said I didn’t deserve one… The past 2 years have been remarkably different…yes they have been difficult and extremely painful at times; they also have been filled with remarkable times of blessing…

Yes; I am 44. Yes my hair is greying. But its never to late and your never too old to live. Jesus is the God of yesterday; today and tomorrow, and so I thank God for my 44 years of life and look forward to the journey into tomorrow and beyond… for he is yet to let me down…

So… bring it on I say!

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in birthdays, Personal identity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turning 44…

  1. pobept says:

    Today, 15, February is my daughters 43rd birthday. Now being a ‘Grandma’ she confided in me that she now knows why some mothers eat their young! Grinning

    Being a mother of 1 boy and 1 girl, she has decided that as soon {or if} as her 21 years old son moves out she’s changing the locks on the doors.

    I’m now in the tilling and preparation stage of readying my garden plot for spring planting. Cool weather crop planting will get started this or next week.

    Hope you have a great fall garden harvest.

  2. Craig Benno says:

    Thanks mate.

    Your picture makes you look to young to be a great grandfather… a position I am sure you enjoy.
    I’m getting ready for the autumn / winter…we do suffer from frosts; though never snow. We are renting and may have to move in 6 months; so there is a balance in how much and what I plant. Being towards the end of summer; it looks like I will have a good crop of pumpkins and potatoes. I am hoping for sweet potato also; this depends on how later the frosts are this year.

Leave a Reply

